Ottawa, September 14 2016

New Inquiry Committee designated in the matter involving the Honourable Michel Girouard

Ottawa, 14 September 2016 – The Canadian Judicial Council announced today the members of the Inquiry Committee established to review the conduct of Justice Michel Girouard. This Inquiry Committee was constituted in response to a joint request from the Minister of Justice of Canada and the Minister of Justice of Québec made pursuant to subsection 63(1) of the Judges Act (Act).

The Inquiry Committee is comprised of the following members: the Honourable Ernest Drapeau, Chief Justice of New Brunswick (Chair); the Honourable Glenn Joyal, Chief Justice of the Court of Queen’s Bench of Manitoba; the Honourable Marianne Rivoalen, Associate Chief Justice, Family Division, Court of Queen’s Bench of Manitoba; Mr Bernard Synnott Ad.E., Partner with Fasken Martineau and Ms Paule Veilleux, Partner with Langlois lawyers.

The reasons for Ministers Raybould-Wilson and Vallée referring the matter to Council are outlined in their letter to Council received on 14 June 2016 and available on the website. 

The Committee will announce further details relating to its mandate and anticipated time lines in the coming weeks. 

Information about the Council and its mandate, including its work in conducting public inquiries into a judge’s conduct, can be found on the Council website at

Norman Sabourin
Executive Director and Senior General Counsel
(613) 288-1566 ext 313